Author Topic: Crash and Burn, now what?  (Read 6032 times)

Offline vcarangelo

Crash and Burn, now what?
« on: February 14, 2008, 12:14:16 am »
Newbie to this forum, but I've been using the Kenwood Music Keg for 4 years.  I upgraded my DMS to a 120GB drive (unfortunately, before I found this forum), then partitioned it using the RAWRITE utility I had found somewhere.  I copied back the contents of the PHTSYS partition I had taken from the original drive onto the new one, then started up PMM 2.30 and copied my music back onto it.  I tested it on my PC and found it played just fine, all my discs were intact as well as my full library.  However, before I tested the DMS on the Keg, I formatted the original drive and put it in my wife's laptop.  Of course, the problem is it won't play on the Keg (yes, I know how stupid that was).  I've found lots of references here about not formatting your original drive and how bad that is, and it seems the only remedy given is to send it back to Phatnoise.  I have to wonder if that's really the only remedy?  It seems to me that the Phathack tools for windows does a backup of files on the original drive before it puts the hack onto the drive..is there no one who has this backup and is willing to send me a copy?  Am I missing something (or many things)?

I appreciate any help you folks can offer.

Offline sbingner

• Administrator
  • Veteran.
Re: Crash and Burn, now what?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2008, 12:16:15 am »
Did you just format it, or did uyou repartition it as well?  If you repartitioned you're screwed and you just need to find somebody with a good DMS to patch your box for you

Offline VorTechS

• Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • PhatHack Media Manager & DMS Tools Wizard Author
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2008, 12:31:22 am »