Author Topic: DMS issue #4,654,007 (Running out of things to try)  (Read 4341 times)

Offline Fooped

DMS issue #4,654,007 (Running out of things to try)
« on: March 08, 2008, 01:47:26 am »
Hey everyone,

First off thanks to all of you for sharing your knowledge and expertise on this board. As you all know trying to find definitive solutions for the Phatnoise system is not easy.

Here's my sad story:

I have two Phatnoise systems in two seperate vehicles. One in a Corvette (which is the Kenwood Music Keg) and another in my 2004 VW Touraeg. I have been using the VW system with no issues for about two years now, and the Vette system works fine as well (although I very rarely drive the car).

About a month ago, the VW (Non-nav) head unit started with the "No-CD" gig, and I started a long (and still continuing) trouble shooting process. I inserted the DMS (from here on I will call it DMS #1 as there's three total in this debacle) and the software locks up completely! Neither XP or PMM can see the drive and I have to do a whole bunch of Ctrl-Alt-Delete and End Task malarky to get the PC back to a steady state. This happens without fail every time I try inserting the DMS. For what it's worth, I am using the Kenwood cradle as the VW crapped out about a year ago. From everything I've researched, the two cradles are identical but I figured I'd mention it.

So I downloaded PMM 3.92 and tried again. Same ugly lockup and C.A.D. process with neither XP or PMM recognizing the drive.

Just for grins, I tried the Vette Kenwood DMS (DMS #2 from here on) and the cradle and PMM worked perfectly: PMM sees the DMS, XP sees it with both partitions, I can load songs and it plays fine in the Vette Kenwood system.

This tells me that DMS #2, the cradle and the PMM are all in working order.