Author Topic: Help! Please! DMS Not Working!  (Read 4125 times)

Offline ScreetHoPrez

Help! Please! DMS Not Working!
« on: December 03, 2008, 05:24:02 pm »
Hey all
  First off, let me introduce myself.  My name is Rich and I'm from the Kansas City area.  I have a Kenwood system in my 2005 Dodge Ram 3500 dually, which is my tow pig for my show car and bike.
  I'm a newb here, but I've been browsing these forums for the past week or so trying to resolve my issues.  I bought a Kenwood 910 Music Keg off eBay earlier this year and loved it.  Recently it died on me (hardware issue) and I managed to have it warrantied out with a local stereo shop.  The new one arrived last week.  After putting all of my folders and songs back on the new DMS cartridge I noticed that the Voice Index wasn't working.  I tried a few different things but after they didn't work, I contacted the original seller of my first Keg to see if he had any ideas.
  Luckily, he was nice and gave me some things to try but they didn't work.  He then suggested formatting the PHTSYS partition, which I did.  Then, when I insert the DMS cartridge and open up Music Manager, I'm told that, "PhatNoise Music Manager has detected an unitialized DMS" and then it attempts to run the Wizard.  This of course doesn't get very far due to there being no head unit's on the next screen so I cannot proceed any further.
  I did some digging on here and found out the link to upgrade the firmware, http://downloads.phathack.com/firmware/ .  I downloaded all the .zip files for the Kenwood and unzipped them into the PHTSYS partition.  I still get the same "unitialized" error message when I open up Music Manager.