Author Topic: Issues With VW Phatbox  (Read 6360 times)

Offline TALL

Issues With VW Phatbox
« on: September 02, 2005, 02:51:50 pm »
Recently installed a 20 gig VW phatbox in my 2003 Jetta and have noticed one major problem.  Sometimes the head unit stops reconizing the Phatbox.  In order to get it working again I have to disconnect/reconnect the cable.  I have the Monsoon double din CD/Cass head unit and the last few times I had the problem I had switched sources(used the cd player or tape deck) when I tried to switch back to the phatbox it wasn't there.  Seems like it could be a firmware issue or I maybe I have a defective unit.  Since I am new to the phatbox world any direction would be very helpful.  I consider myself a pretty technical person and not afarid to give any suggestions a whirl.  

Offline InterMurph

• A few posts under my belt.
Re: Issues With VW Phatbox
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2005, 04:17:04 pm »
I experienced the same thing yesterday.  20G Phatbox, Passat wagon with Monsoon radio, worked fine for two weeks, then "NO CD".

The DMS mounted fine in my PC, and all the songs were there.  I rebuilt the database and the voice prompts, but to no avail.

So I unplugged it, waited, and plugged it in again, and it worked.

This was with an unmodified Phatbox, so it sounds like a lame bug.  I checked, and I have the latest VW firmware.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2005, 12:48:40 am by admin »

Offline eggm4n

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2005, 10:29:35 pm »
I had a similar issue in my Passat Wagon.  I think mine was realted to a poorly seated connection.  I have a seriously hacky install (removed the metal housing) so I just made sure the connection was fully seated, and have been fine since.

Offline InterMurph

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2005, 01:56:52 pm »
My install is about as clean as it could be, and my connector is seated & screwed in tightly.  It just sounds like a bug in the Phatbox firmware.

Offline judb

• Administrator
  • Veteran.