PhatHack

The Hacking Hoedown => PhatBox Hacking => Topic started by: srs on March 06, 2009, 03:10:04 PM

Title: busybox and serial port
Post by: srs on March 06, 2009, 03:10:04 PM
Hello,

I finally got my phatbox hooked to a serial console.  I get the initial loadup info and then a # prompt.

I do not understand how I use the modified busybox.

I am connected to the serial port and my phatbox was hacked my vortechs program.  I am using the Porsche firmware and I am trying to use the palmphat program to control the phatbox.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Steven
Tampa FL
Title: Re: busybox and serial port
Post by: S80_UK on March 06, 2009, 10:58:51 PM
Cool!

I am tempted to say you're probably on your own at this point, but I know that sbingner and probably one or two others have also hooked up to the serial port (I have not at this point).  The fact that the box is hacked should not be relevant.  Have you tried basic things like "help", "?", "pwd", "ls" and so on?
Title: Re: busybox and serial port
Post by: sbingner on March 27, 2009, 05:26:50 PM
You have to modify rc.sh -- by default it just boots up and sits in a loop of running phatd... you need to make it run phatd in the background or something...  lots of ways to do it, I can probably get you an rc.sh if you need it
Title: Re: busybox and serial port
Post by: srs on March 27, 2009, 05:51:30 PM
Here is what rc.sh has inside:

mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /dos/Data
export DEBUG_LEVEL=10
export DEBUG_LOG=1
export AAC_DEBUG=1
while true
do
  /dos/phatd
done


What do you put in here to make it show bootup on console?
Or can you download the necessary file to your download page on phathack?
I have used your files linux or linuxlba48 and the phatbox shows bootup just fine, but then I cannot get the phatbox to load up any music files for the headunit.

I have also been trying to get phatcontrol.prc to work.  I have a palm 3c, and lifedrive to try but I cannot get it to work.

Thanks for your help so far.
Title: Re: busybox and serial port
Post by: sbingner on April 06, 2009, 08:37:00 PM
You could change it to:
mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /dos/Data
export DEBUG_LEVEL=10
export DEBUG_LOG=1
export AAC_DEBUG=1
(/bin/sh 2>&1 > /dev/ttyS0 < /dev/ttyS0 &)
while true
do
  /dos/phatd
done


You'll need something else for the palm interface though... if you have that up I suspect the palm interface won't be ABLE to work...