Author Topic: DMS errors - help  (Read 6563 times)

Offline scb71

• PhatHacker
DMS errors - help
« on: December 24, 2005, 09:05:41 am »
I am new to this whole thing, but unfortunately am finding myself spending way more time than necessary messing with my phatbox. Thankfully I found this forum - I certainly hope you all can help.

I tried phatvoice earlier today, changed a couple of tags in the phatbox.ini file and now my unit is dead in the water. Those things may have been unrelated, but it just happened all at once.

Several things of note:
DMS doctor comes up with an error under - Checking System Files..."the server name or address could not be resolved"

I cannot update the firmware through PMM b/c it says it cannot connect through the wizard. On the second screen of the wizard it says "there are no itema loaded" and when I click on the update from phatnoise button it just times out and says " unable to connect to server"

I tried copying new files to the phtsys but it does not seem to do anything. I could be doing it wrong for all I know.

I used the WIPE DMS function in the hardware part of PMM just in case - again, no luck.

I just returned from the car and placed the cartridge - no music on it now - in the phatbox and then I unplugged and replugged the cord to get the lights going. The red turned on after the plug was reconnected and teh green blinked every so often, but it never stopped. This went on for maybe 20 minutes.

Sorry to ramble. Any help is much appreciated.

Offline markbowen

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran.
Re: DMS errors - help
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2005, 10:17:14 am »
I'm by no means an expert, but one obvious problem you are having is that PMM is unable to connect to the Phatnoise website for some reason.  PMM requires a connection to update the firmware, and even to run DMS Doctor.

So the obvious question is, are you running this while connected to the internet?  If not, establish a connection and run the software again.