Author Topic: Audi Phatbox to What?  (Read 6895 times)

Offline Seaco

• PhatHacker
Audi Phatbox to What?
« on: February 19, 2007, 12:09:13 am »
Hi All

I have just removed my Phatbox from my 2005 Audi A3 I'm selling the car, it worked fine but I don't like the talking part of my Phatbox much I think I would rather see the artists, albums etc. on the screen of the stereo, so here's my question does anyone know what make and models of head unit work with my Phatbox i.e. show the info?

Or is there any way that I can make the voices more understandable, as you can probably gather I'm quite new to this...

Thanks to anyone who answers in advance... ::)

Lee

Offline markbowen

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran.
Re: Audi Phatbox to What?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2007, 08:58:35 pm »
If you want to see the artist-album-track info, the only way to go is Kenwood.  Your Audi PB is easily changed to a Kenwood Keg with a firmware flash, and you'll need the right cable to go from the PB to the head unit.  That is part number KHD-5L1, found for around $50.

You also have the option of using the voices in the Kenwood.  You should have the AT&T voices that came with your Audi box, which are as clear as you're likely to find.  It may be that your setup defaulted to use the Microsoft Sam voice instead, which is less understandable than the AT&T voices.
Kenwood DNX7200/Kenwood KHD-C710 Keg/320GB DMS

Offline Seaco

• PhatHacker
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2007, 10:01:08 pm »
Mark

Thankyou for all the info it looks like Kenwood's the way to go then, will most of their head units work there seems so many of them?

Thanks again

Lee

Offline markbowen

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran.
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2007, 07:12:25 pm »