Author Topic: BMW to Audi phatnoise  (Read 4700 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dowzerr

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
BMW to Audi phatnoise
« on: March 04, 2010, 11:34:01 pm »
Hi all. I'm new here and I've just discovered this system and I'm thinking of putting one in my 2006 Audi A4 S Line.
On eBay right now there is a BMW phatnoise system for sale and I wonder if it can be made to work in my Audi?
Thanks

Offline VorTechS

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1673
  • PhatHack Media Manager & DMS Tools Wizard Author
Re: BMW to Audi phatnoise
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2010, 09:28:17 am »
I'm not sure on the specs. of the 2006 A4... as long as it is using an Audi Symphony stereo you could be okay.

It's a question you might ask over at audiSRS ( http://audisrs.com ), there are a few people there that have PhatNoise systems and they may be able to guide you better about specific head-units that work.

In terms of the box, though ... you can buy any version of the PhatBox (or Kenwood Music Keg) and as long as you have the correct connector cable all you need to do is update the box with the appropriate firmware (which you can do with the DMS tools - http://forum.phathack.com/index.php/topic,1641.0.html ).
Kenwood KDC-W7031 | Kenwood KHD-CX910 | 250GB DMS | PhatHack Media Manager v1.1.4 (Alpha) | VIOT

Catch me weekdays 8am-4pm GMT on IRC @ irc.freenode.net on channel #phathack (aka the chat link!!)

Offline Terry_Kennedy

  • Senior Member
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 249
  • There and back again
Re: BMW to Audi phatnoise
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2010, 10:01:05 am »
I'm not sure on the specs. of the 2006 A4... as long as it is using an Audi Symphony stereo you could be okay.

It's a question you might ask over at audiSRS ( http://audisrs.com ), there are a few people there that have PhatNoise systems and they may be able to guide you better about specific head-units that work.

You'll need to replace the long cable from the PhatBox to the BlitzSafe adapter and also remove that adapter from the car harness.
Then you need the appropriate VW / Audi harness and you're all set to proceed as VorTechS says below.

Quote
In terms of the box, though ... you can buy any version of the PhatBox (or Kenwood Music Keg) and as long as you have the correct connector cable all you need to do is update the box with the appropriate firmware (which you can do with the DMS tools - http://forum.phathack.com/index.php/topic,1641.0.html ).

This isn't 100% true. Some boxes bring out more signals than others. For example, a Kenwood Keg 710 won't work in a Toyota because some signals are missing on the Keg / Phatbox edge connector. Some will require some fiddling - the BMW Phatbox has separate power and RCA outs on the case as well as the normal audio in the cable. This is for the optional DSP adapter. Some cars (again, using the BMW as an example) need both the Phatbox cable and a 3rd-party addon with Phatnoise mods (the Blitzsafe adapter), and possibly a DSP adapter as well. The Ford unit is a different kettle of fish altogether - while it works the same, internally it is quite different and not compatible with the other box versions. The GM infotainment system based on the Phatbox is also different, though I don't personally know a lot about it.

Offline VorTechS

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1673
  • PhatHack Media Manager & DMS Tools Wizard Author
Re: BMW to Audi phatnoise
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2010, 10:06:06 am »
This isn't 100% true. Some boxes bring out more signals than others. For example, a Kenwood Keg 710 won't work in a Toyota because some signals are missing on the Keg / Phatbox edge connector.

Oh, that I didn't know!  So I stand corrected there! :)
Kenwood KDC-W7031 | Kenwood KHD-CX910 | 250GB DMS | PhatHack Media Manager v1.1.4 (Alpha) | VIOT

Catch me weekdays 8am-4pm GMT on IRC @ irc.freenode.net on channel #phathack (aka the chat link!!)

Offline dowzerr

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: BMW to Audi phatnoise
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2010, 05:42:54 pm »
Hi again. The car has an Audi Chorus 2 system and the amp is in the rear of the car.