Author Topic: Kenwood CX910 Keg to Sony Conversion Help Needed  (Read 10508 times)

Offline gmonchak

Kenwood CX910 Keg to Sony Conversion Help Needed
« on: April 14, 2011, 04:31:31 am »
Well after exhausting all of the options I am aware of I figured I might try reaching out for help.

I'll note that I am a Keg user via Kenwod HU for 5-6 years now, so I am familiar with the system, hacking, etc. I am no expert, but I have been smart enough to reap the benefits off all of your hard work and dedication.  I would like to now thank all of you before I get into my latest challenge.

I recently picked up another Keg off of eBay at a deal that I want to make work with an older sony HU I had lying around. Here's my intended setup:

Sony CDX-M650 HU
Kenwood CX910 Keg
KHD-010G DMS (reports in windows as 20gb)
Home Made (by me) Sony to PB cable. I used a sony unilink cable and cut it in half and soldered the PB connector on after getting brand new one from online source.

Offline gmonchak

Re: Kenwood CX910 Keg to Sony Conversion Help Needed
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2011, 04:45:36 am »
So my problem is that I can't seem to get the Keg converted to sony and working with the Sony HU. I started with first using the DMStools to install the Sony v7 firmware on the DMS (after backing up and deleting everything on PHATSYS partition). The PB starts up and appears to install the firmware then shuts off. I cycle the power to the PB/HU and the PB acts in the following ways.

If I let it start up with DMS in,  the red comes on with HU and then the green blinks once long and once or twice short while the drive spins up and reads then I hear a click and both LEDs go off and I hear the drive spin down.