Author Topic: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!  (Read 20126 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« on: October 21, 2005, 03:53:48 pm »
Hi guys, i finally took the plunge and tried to patch my 710 Keg so i could use a new 80GB drive.

I'm using the v1.5 boot CD, all seemed to go fine until i put the original DMS into the car to do the patching.

The head unit just shows:
"Loading...Loading...Loading..." etc for a minute and then says "Eject"
Then it just sits there.

I looked at the keg lights and they seem to be cycling - one short flash, eleven long flashes, 1 short flash, four long flashes then both off. Then it repeats.

bootload.log is empty.

My seed original DMS is a 40GB and I have the AAC decoder and VIOT plugins on my keg.

I haven't done any repartioning at all, chkdsk looks fine but the most worrying thing now is I have just tried to revert to a pre-hack state by deleting all the files from PHTSYS and replacing them with a backup taken just before using the hack CD and it still won't work! Same error as above.

HELP!!! Any ideas what I can do now?


Offline judb

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1329
  • ph4t l3wtz
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2005, 07:28:11 pm »
try corrupting the ramdisk.sig file by renaming it and copying another file's sig file as ramdisk.sig and see if the old DMS boots.

If it does, the hack didn't apply all the patches, just most of them.  You'll have to run it again one more time.

The hack CD does not damage the DMS, nor does it have the potential of frying your box as far as I know.  So it should be a sig file issue.

also, if that fails to work, rename the plugin folder and try booting that way.

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2005, 10:51:24 pm »
Thanks for the suggestions judb. Sadly no joy with using the original 40GB DMS so far...  :'(

I've also dug out my old 10GB original DMS and confirmed that the Keg still recognised that OK. Phew!

So now I've given up on using the 40GB DMS as a source and am trying to load the patch software onto the 10GB one instead. But it just doesn't seem to get picked up at all by the Keg.

bootload.log is showing:
BOOT0-0: OK
BOOT0-1: OK
BOOT0: Successful
BOOT9: Successful
BOOTB: Successful
BOOTF: Successful
BOOT*: Successful

which suggests nothing has been patched at all right?

I'm going to reload the firmware onto the 10GB, remove forceupdate/forcesettings and try to apply the patch software to it again.

At least i'm keeping fit going up and down 4 flights of stairs each time!!

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2005, 12:18:10 am »
Some progress to report. I'm getting logs now...

PatchWrite.log
Code: [Select]
PhatPatch v0.4 - original code by bushing, additional patches by sbingner
first 2 words of flash=c102 0025
writing auto-id command (AA, 55, 90)
Flash chip reports manufacturer id=c102, device id=0025
Resetting flash.
Testing patch locations:
Patch 1 @ 0bb8: make drive signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0033 1a00    Actual: 0033 1a00
Match! Programming...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...
Waiting...


Continues with lots more waiting messages until i pulled the DMS from the Keg I guess.

PatchVerify.log
Code: [Select]
Starting Patch Process
PhatPatch v0.4 - original code by bushing, additional patches by sbingner
Verifying:
Patch 1 @ 0bb8: make drive signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0000 1a00    Actual: 0033 1a00
Unverified!
Patch 2 @ 0bec: make rc.sh signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0000 1a00    Actual: 0026 1a00
Unverified!
Patch 3 @ 0c20: make phatd signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0000 1a00    Actual: 0019 1a00
Unverified!
Patch 4 @ 0c54: make linux signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0000 1a00    Actual: 000c 1a00
Unverified!
Patch 5 @ 0354: make ramdisk invalid signature return 0 instead of 0xFFFFFFFF: [movlne r0, 0xFFFFFFFF -> movlne r0, #0]
Expected: 0000 13a0    Actual: 0000 13e0
Unverified!
Patch 6 @ 0c80: make ramdisk signature check verify 0 instead of 1: [cmp r0, #1 -> cmp r0, #0]
Expected: 0000 e350    Actual: 0001 e350
Unverified!
Patch 7 @ 0358: make ramdisk valid signature return 0 instead of 1: [moveq r0, #1 -> moveq r0, #0]
Expected: 0000 03a0    Actual: 0001 03a0
Unverified!


patch.log
Code: [Select]

: No such file or directory
2048+0 records in
2048+0 records out

hdparm - get/set hard disk parameters - version v3.9

Usage:  hdparm  [options] [device] ..

Options:
-a   get/set fs readahead
-A   set drive read-lookahead flag (0/1)
-c   get/set IDE 32-bit IO setting
-C   check IDE power mode status
-d   get/set using_dma flag
-D   enable/disable drive defect-mgmt
-E   set cd-rom drive speed
-f   flush buffer cache for device on exit
-g   display drive geometry
-h   display terse usage information
-i   display drive identification
-I   read drive identification directly from drive
-k   get/set keep_settings_over_reset flag (0/1)
-K   set drive keep_features_over_reset flag (0/1)
-L   set drive doorlock (0/1) (removable harddisks only)
-m   get/set multiple sector count
-n   get/set ignore-write-errors flag (0/1)
-p   set PIO mode on IDE interface chipset (0,1,2,3,4,...)
-P   set drive prefetch count
-Q   print out the drive id only (60bytes\n)
-q   change next setting quietly
-r   get/set readonly flag (DANGEROUS to set)
-R   register an IDE interface (DANGEROUS)
-S   set standby (spindown) timeout
-t   perform device read timings
-T   perform cache read timings
-u   get/set unmaskirq flag (0/1)
-U   un-register an IDE interface (DANGEROUS)
-v   default; same as -acdgkmnru (-gr for SCSI, -adgr for XT)
-V   display program version and exit immediately
-W   set drive write-caching flag (0/1) (DANGEROUS)
-w   flush os cache and wakeup drive
-X   set IDE xfer mode (DANGEROUS)
-y   put IDE drive in standby mode
-Y   put IDE drive to sleep
-Z   disable Seagate auto-powersaving mode
PhatPatch v0.4 - original code by bushing, additional patches by sbingner
Verifying:
Patch 1 @ 0bb8: make drive signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0000 1a00    Actual: 0033 1a00
Unverified!
Patch 2 @ 0bec: make rc.sh signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0000 1a00    Actual: 0026 1a00
Unverified!
Patch 3 @ 0c20: make phatd signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0000 1a00    Actual: 0019 1a00
Unverified!
Patch 4 @ 0c54: make linux signature check always succeed: [bne verify_sig_failed -> bne PC+1]
Expected: 0000 1a00    Actual: 000c 1a00
Unverified!
Patch 5 @ 0354: make ramdisk invalid signature return 0 instead of 0xFFFFFFFF: [movlne r0, 0xFFFFFFFF -> movlne r0, #0]
Expected: 0000 13a0    Actual: 0000 13e0
Unverified!
Patch 6 @ 0c80: make ramdisk signature check verify 0 instead of 1: [cmp r0, #1 -> cmp r0, #0]
Expected: 0000 e350    Actual: 0001 e350
Unverified!
Patch 7 @ 0358: make ramdisk valid signature return 0 instead of 1: [moveq r0, #1 -> moveq r0, #0]
Expected: 0000 03a0    Actual: 0001 03a0
Unverified!


I guess that is progress??!! Been at this 8 hours straight now - I'll look again in the morning........
« Last Edit: October 22, 2005, 09:07:19 am by Firefox »

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2005, 12:28:38 am »
oh no, i've just seen this earlier thread:

http://forum.phathack.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=dmshack;action=display;num=1126252507

Am i really stuffed?

Offline judb

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1329
  • ph4t l3wtz
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2005, 01:07:51 pm »
Well I don't know what to tell you firefox..  Perhaps emailing or PMing Sam would be a  good idea.

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2005, 09:49:06 pm »
Thanks for trying judb - I think i'm going to give up on this for a few days while I calm down  :-[
My Keg just plain refuses to patch.

I do have both original DMS working again so that is a relief. No lasting damage.

The 10GB gets stuck on patch step 1 as per logs above, with audio stuttering if you change to other playlists. chkdsk /f and defrags didn't help, so I have manually reverted it to a regular state and that still works fine now in the unpatched Keg.

I eventully managed to get the original 40GB DMS working again too - this time a firmware reload seemed to do the trick.
That 40GB DMS is really weird though, the patch process never once even started in the Keg using that one as a seed. I vaguely remember from the old PN forums that PN said something about the 40GB format being different in some way. Anyone else remember that?

A couple more questions to all:
- has anyone managed to patch using a 40GB original DMS as the seed?
- has anyone managed to patch a box when the AAC Plugin is already on the box?

judb - I've also got the same question that A543 had to you before in
http://forum.phathack.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=dmshack;action=display;num=1126252507;start=15#19
He was asking about your earlier post in
http://forum.phathack.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=dmshack;action=display;num=1122187002;start=48#48
when you had exactly the same problem as in my log above - you were stuck on patch step one with exactly the same chip being reported i.e.
Code: [Select]
first 2 words of flash=c102 0025
writing auto-id command (AA, 55, 90)
Flash chip reports manufacturer id=c102, device id=0025
etc...
but you eventually got past it. Do you remember how?

One day I'll crack this beast!!!!  ;D
« Last Edit: October 22, 2005, 09:59:11 pm by Firefox »

Offline A543

  • Senior Member
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 214
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2005, 01:30:04 am »
Firefox, you mentioned that you have at least one plugin installed.  I believe the box that had the problem in that other thread also had at least one.
Did you try installing the patch without having any plugins installed? Basically starting from scratch with a fresh DMS and a fresh firmware reinstall and then not installing any plugins, before running the patch?

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2005, 02:49:44 pm »
Quote
Firefox, you mentioned that you have at least one plugin installed.  I believe the box that had the problem in that other thread also had at least one.
Did you try installing the patch without having any plugins installed? Basically starting from scratch with a fresh DMS and a fresh firmware reinstall and then not installing any plugins, before running the patch?


No. I haven't wiped a DMS yet and tried that.

I have 2 questions before i try it:
a) How do you actually remove a plugin from the Keg? If I don't want to reformat the DMS is it a simple case of deleting the Plugins folder from the DMS and then re-applying firmware with forceupdate/forcesettings file in place?

b) Has anyone successfully reapplied plugins after patching their Keg/Phatbox - there seems to be a lot of people asking that question here but i don't see a definitive answer. I can live without the AAC plugin but not VIOT.

Thanks for the support guys.

Offline judb

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1329
  • ph4t l3wtz
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2005, 03:46:52 pm »
Just rename the plugin folder and they don't work anymore..

you can zip up the folders in there and just extract them individually to test them out.

I'd guess its the aac plugin thats causing problems though

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2005, 04:59:09 pm »
Quote
Just rename the plugin folder and they don't work anymore..

you can zip up the folders in there and just extract them individually to test them out.

I'd guess its the aac plugin thats causing problems though


Really? I thought the DMS was just used to transport a plugin to a Keg/PB like it is for firmware.
Once you have a plugin loaded onto a Keg/PB can't you theoretically use ANY DMS (even ones without the Plugins folder) and the VIOT/AAC plugins will still work?
I'll try it out later tonight.

I agree that the aac plugin is likely the problem.

Maybe I really do have to totally nuke the AAC plugin first by reflashing the firmware in the Keg - as suggested by A543 - otherwise the current AAC-modified firmware uses too many CPU cycles to allow the patch to work and hence it errors and loops? (Well, it's a theory...  ;D )
« Last Edit: October 24, 2005, 05:05:23 pm by Firefox »

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2005, 10:33:29 pm »
Theory was no good - I have
- wiped the 10GB DMS,
- reloaded the Kenwood firmware to DMS via PMM
- loaded Kenwood firmware to Keg
- reapplied VIOT to DMS via PMM
- applied VIOT to Keg
- loaded patch to original DMS via boot CD
- Put patch DMS in car but got same result as before (hanging on step 1).
- Tried again after renaming the Plugins folder to Plugins.xxx but got same result as before (hanging on step 1).

Sadly it looks like I have an unpatchable box  :-[  and I'm blaming the AAC Plugin!!

Has anyone who has ever had the AAC Plugin loaded to their Keg/Phatbox managed to patch it afterwards?
« Last Edit: October 24, 2005, 10:58:48 pm by Firefox »

Offline bazmk2

  • A few posts under my belt.
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #12 on: October 25, 2005, 06:06:06 pm »
I had Exactly the same problem with mine  see http://forum.phathack.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=dmshack;action=display;num=1126252507;start=15#19  which you have already referenced.

I solved it by buying a new box on ebay cheap.  This flashed fine

I did have the AAC plugininstalled on the original box, as I upgraded the original software and it came with it.

Could this be the cause??

I tried it with the DMS completely wiped and new firmware (and old firmware)

just kept waiting....

I still have the old box, its a very pretty paperweight ;D

Offline A543

  • Senior Member
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 214
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2005, 03:16:29 am »
Firefox, would you feel like trying it again without any plugins installed? Having any plugin on the DMS, as the source of the problem, still hasn't been eliminated yet. I'm only reaching at straws here, so weigh the four flights of stairs accordingly.  ;)

Offline sbingner

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1299
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2005, 05:52:41 pm »
If it's using too much time, you can hit pause as soon as the hack starts.... wait a few seconds then unpause it.   Sometimes the box doesn't even want to give you a serial console for a few moments after boot up unless you pause playback

The problem post-hack is usually that a plugin gives an error... the best way is to remove the entire plugins directory from the hacked dms and see if it works, then add the plugins back one at a time.   There are ways to fix the plugins afterward, but I thought that was taken care of by the hack cd (which unfortunately I've actually never used)
« Last Edit: October 26, 2005, 05:54:41 pm by sbingner »

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2005, 10:24:03 pm »
Quote
...I did have the AAC plugininstalled on the original box, as I upgraded the original software and it came with it.

Could this be the cause??
...


@bazmk2 - I'm pretty certain the AAC plugin is the issue. I have yet to hear from anyone who has successfully patched after having the AAC plugin installed.

I'm not convinced that reflashing a Keg with new firmware truly removes the plugin. It's almost like installing it is a one-way ticket, you can never get rid of it!

@A543 - i'm a bit confused now because having renamed the plugins folder on my 10GB DMS to plugins.bak the VIOT still functions as normal on my Keg which supports my theory that a plugin is transported by the DMS but after that it is not required.

@sbingner - I've just tried your pause suggestion but unfortunately I get exactly the same "waiting..." problem when trying to patch the Keg.
Do you think it is possible that installing the AAC plugin has already "patched" my Keg in some official Phatnoise way that now prevents the Phathack calls from working e.g. my Keg does some additional checks now at boot time?

Offline sbingner

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1299
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2005, 10:30:28 pm »
Quote
@A543 - i'm a bit confused now because having renamed the plugins folder on my 10GB DMS to plugins.bak the VIOT still functions as normal on my Keg which supports my theory that a plugin is transported by the DMS but after that it is not required.


Until the unit POWERS DOWN (I.E is disconnected from power) the plugins will remain enabled.  Once it is powered down, it will have to be re-enabled by the DMS on bootup

Quote

@sbingner - I've just tried your pause suggestion but unfortunately I get exactly the same "waiting..." problem when trying to patch the Keg.
Do you think it is possible that installing the AAC plugin has already "patched" my Keg in some official Phatnoise way that now prevents the Phathack calls from working e.g. my Keg does some additional checks now at boot time?


I worked with dafamous12 and managed to get his audible working as well, had to put the original aadec in as "aadec-orig" and "aadec-orig.sig" then change the config to use that instead of aadec.   As to the AAC codec, I believe I have that installed on my box at home... and no it couldnt have done anything to your firmware.  NOTHING phatnoise does EVER touches the phatbox firmware, only the CPLD firmware.   I can log onto IRC in about 3 or 4 hours and help you with this if you like, expect we can get it patched... (4:30 or 5:00 AKST since I'm in Alaska at the moment)
« Last Edit: October 31, 2005, 10:32:15 pm by sbingner »

Offline Firefox

  • Needs to get outside.
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
  • Kenwood 710 Keg 80GB ;-)
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #17 on: November 01, 2005, 12:19:07 am »
Quote

Until the unit POWERS DOWN (I.E is disconnected from power) the plugins will remain enabled.  Once it is powered down, it will have to be re-enabled by the DMS on bootup


Hmmmm. I'm not convinced. To test this I've just pulled the lead from my Keg, waited 5 minutes then loaded an old firmware (Kenwood v12.05) with the plugins folder on the DMS renamed as plugins.xxx and after the firmware has loaded I STILL have VIOT active............ ???

Quote
...I can log onto IRC in about 3 or 4 hours and help you with this if you like, expect we can get it patched... (4:30 or 5:00 AKST since I'm in Alaska at the moment)


Appreciate the offer but i need to crash now due to early work start tomorrow. Will try to catch up with you soon though. Cheers!
P.S. You certainly get around - wan't it Japan a couple of weeks back??!!!  :o

Offline sbingner

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1299
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #18 on: November 01, 2005, 12:32:51 am »
Mine doesn't work that way, but I suppose it could modify the CPLD firmware to always work with SSA enabled... that's where the difference is

Offline skew

  • A few posts under my belt.
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Problems patching Keg - HELP!!
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2005, 01:48:59 am »
From what I have seen. Viot once installed always works no matter what dms is used something is installed in rom on the phatbox. AAC will only work on the dms that it was installed on or if you use the patched addecc on a larger drive it will enable use on it.