Author Topic: phat noise not working  (Read 516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jon schmidt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
phat noise not working
« on: May 20, 2017, 03:54:21 pm »
for a long time, my phatbox player and dms were working great, then I Decided to add some more mp3 music.. when I did nothing worked at all and it would go through the tracks like lightning speed and not stop..  I took off the song that I put on hoping that it would all work great again, but now I for sure broke something.. please help

thanks

Offline BioBob

  • A few posts under my belt.
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: phat noise not working
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2017, 09:58:34 am »
Did you disconnect the phatnoise box from the head unit, then plug it back in?  Mine glitches also and I have to reset it quite a lot.

DO THIS WITH THE CAR AND PHATNOISE OFF!!!

Offline Jon schmidt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: phat noise not working
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2017, 12:47:07 pm »
hey, so I tried that and It is still the same thing.. It most likely has something to do with taken songs on & off the dms cartridge without the music manager,

I don't have one, does anyone.. or Do you think that would at least fix my problem

thanks

Offline bolopez

  • Getting the hang of things.
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: phat noise not working
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2017, 09:21:15 am »
hey, so I tried that and It is still the same thing.. It most likely has something to do with taken songs on & off the dms cartridge without the music manager,

I don't have one, does anyone.. or Do you think that would at least fix my problem

thanks
Yes, if you just tried to copy music on the DMS from explorer or something like thtat, it won't work. I don't think that it would damage the DMS, just the new files wouldn't appear, but perhaps something happened to databases.

You should be able to get a copy of PMM in VortechS' site, phatnoise.us, if I remember correctly. If you can't or the site is down I think I have it somewhere home. Just tell me and I'll try to send it to you somehow.

Regards.

Offline Jon schmidt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: phat noise not working
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2017, 08:45:56 pm »
perfect thx,

I got it working so that's all good, although some of the mp3 music I tried to transfer doesn't work, but some do.. ever run into that?

Offline BioBob

  • A few posts under my belt.
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: phat noise not working
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2017, 10:23:19 pm »
Yup.  Phatnoise has a few limitations in respect to what compression settings some types of mp3s will and wont play.

When I run into problems like those, I usually just run those mp3s thru Audacity with the LAME plugin.  The LAME plugin allows Audacity to export mp3's.  Audacity is a free open source audio editing program.  We can talk about bitrates and other variables if needed, but usually 128 is pretty standard for "normal" quality and 320 is "high quality".  I believe Phatnoise Music Manager has some options for conversions of bitrates and re-encoding mp3s which may help.


RELATED: MP3 PATENT FINALLY EXPIRED!
https://tech.slashdot.org/story/17/05/16/1314221/mp3-is-not-dead-its-finally-free

Basically, what that means is the previous patent holder is no longer requiring licenses for software to be able to export audio in mp3 format.  Thus, the LAME plugin for Audacity may not be needed much longer and a new release will most likely have native mp3 export support.

Offline VorTechS

  • Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • *****
  • Posts: 1649
  • PhatHack Media Manager & DMS Tools Wizard Author
Re: phat noise not working
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2017, 09:32:45 am »
PhatHack MM also has options to transcode media to a flat format.  Obviously this will cause the transfer process to be slower while it does this, so it's a trade off on how you want to proceed.

Once I get my CarPC back up and running (car has been off the road for a while with a damaged axle), I'll be looking to fix / re-write it, so if you do use it and need things sorting out, let me know!
Kenwood KDC-W7031 | Kenwood KHD-CX910 | 250GB DMS | PhatHack Media Manager v1.1.4 (Alpha) | VIOT

Catch me weekdays 8am-4pm GMT on IRC @ irc.freenode.net on channel #phathack (aka the chat link!!)