Author Topic: 99 "Disk"/Playlist Limitation  (Read 5150 times)

Offline nedb

• PhatHacker
99 "Disk"/Playlist Limitation
« on: April 06, 2006, 08:48:14 pm »
Hi all. Okay, newbie here. Flames welcome. I thought I'd find a thread on this but I didn't see anything. I have a Excelon KHD-CX910 and a Kenwood DDX7017. I loaded all 7,000 tracks on my 40GB DMS. First I "expected" to find, or see, or navigate my folders as they
look like on my hard drive. Okay, I had to make "disks" for whatever music I wanted to see
on the keg. Fine. The problem is that the 100th disks reads "no text", although I can hear the correct data on there. And then my head unit doesn't see disk "101". Please excuss the me if this topic has been brought up already. Thanks in advance. Ned.

Offline sbingner

• Administrator
  • Veteran.
Re: 99 "Disk"/Playlist Limitation
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 09:03:19 pm »
If your head unit doesn't support >99 playlists just update your firmware properties to let it know that.  It will show only 99, but you'll still be able to access all your playlists

Offline nedb

• PhatHacker
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2006, 10:00:33 pm »
Okay. thank you.

Offline markbowen

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran.
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2006, 08:24:06 am »
Your head unit can almost certainly support playlists greater than 99.  However, the default setting on the Music Keg is 99 or less, which is probably why you are getting the glitch that you mentioned.

With the DMS connected to the computer, open the Phatnoise software, then go into hardware options.  On one of the tabs there you will find the options to set the firmware properties.  There you can change the playlist option to support greater than 99.

While you are in the hardware options, also check to be sure you are using the latest firmware.  If you just got the keg new then your firmware is probably out of date.  Instructions for updating the firmware are in your Keg manual.
Kenwood DNX7200/Kenwood KHD-C710 Keg/320GB DMS