Author Topic: Owwww... my head hurts.. Need to build new HDD  (Read 11731 times)

Offline Phool

Owwww... my head hurts.. Need to build new HDD
« on: August 02, 2005, 10:51:47 pm »
Hi all -

Have spent a humbling evening looking through lots of posts here re. getting round the Phatnoise signature issue on a new HDD in a DMS.  

Clearly lots of worthy and dead smart thinking going on.. but I'm new at this I'm afraid.  

The HDD in my DMS died - dead.  Replaced it with an equivalent 20Gb IBM Travelstar.  Repartitioned and reformatted using the regular Phatnoise-downloadable DMS Rescue utility (the one that creates a LILO boot disk), then installed Keg firmware v13.1 etc... but (as I now see is expected) my Keg won't boot.  Looks like this 'signature' issue.

Problem is - all fixes I see here, rely on a 'known Good' DMS to seed the process.  I have no 'known Good' DMS - mine died.  Is there ANY WAY whatsoever that I can get that signature either written to my HDD, or over-ridden in the Keg..?  I don't care about risk, because currently my Keg is an attractive plastic paper-weight.... :-(   Is it possible anyone can post a GHOST- or simliar bitwise image of their own DMS that I could burn down to my drive..?   Thanks in advance - sorry for newb question.  Kind Regards - Chris.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2005, 11:37:09 pm by Phool »

Offline skew

• A few posts under my belt.
Re: Owwww... my head hurts.. Need to build new HDD
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2005, 12:33:04 am »
I could be wrong but you can't patch the firmware without an approved dms first. After its patched then you can rebuild with any hd. Do you have any buddy's or a friend with a good dms to patch your box?

Offline Genesis

• Getting the hang of things.
  • Bite Me
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2005, 01:20:04 am »
Yep - you need to find someone with a REAL DMS (it doesn't have to be for a Kenwood box) that is willing to have his DMS be hacked on to run the patch.