Author Topic: DMS IN VW Passat Seems To Have No Power  (Read 8619 times)

Offline NJNewbie

DMS IN VW Passat Seems To Have No Power
« on: November 14, 2010, 12:38:31 am »
Good evening All, I am new here and would like to thank everyone for the information you have shared... I have searched but was not able to find a starting point for my issue. Many similar ones but not basic. As I am a newbie here I need some starting out instructions. The subject is a DMS in my wife's 1999 VW Passat. It has worked flawlessly for about 5 years now and  was installed by the dealer. ... last week it stopped working.  ???

At the head end which is the stock VW stereo, when I push CD it displays Cd 1 Track 01 but nothing else. At the phat noise end, I removed the DMS and reinserted it. There is not activity and the LEDs stay dark. Seems to be a power issue, but I am not sure where to begin...

Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your time and assistance.

Offline VorTechS

• Administrator
  • Veteran.
  • PhatHack Media Manager & DMS Tools Wizard Author
Re: DMS IN VW Passat Seems To Have No Power
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2010, 08:32:26 am »
When you attach the DMS to the cradle, are you able to see the contents of the DMS cartridge using your software and/or does Windows explorer show two drives labelled PHTSYS and PHTDTA?

If so, there could be two possible causes of your problem:

1) The connector inside the DMS is bad - there have been several instances lately of them working fine with the cradle but not with the box
2) The ribbon cable / switch inside the PhatBox has a problem

Kenwood KDC-W7031 | Kenwood KHD-CX910 | 250GB DMS | PhatHack Media Manager v1.1.4 (Alpha) | VIOT

Catch me weekdays 8am-4pm GMT on IRC @ irc.freenode.net on channel #phathack (aka the chat link!!)

Offline NJNewbie

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2010, 01:06:25 am »